2018 -19 Literary Luncheon Series

Bringing authors on tour from around the globe, this series is made possible the generosity and support of

Annual Community Read Luncheon

Wednesday, November 7

12:30 pm – Author Presentation and Luncheon

$40

A remarkable story of a remote New Mexican town coming to grips with a dark history it never imagined.

“If you haven’t read Mary Morris yet, start here. Now. Immediately.” — Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of Small Great Things

Mary Morris is the author of numerous works of fiction, including the novels The Jazz Palace, A Mother’s Love, and House Arrest; and of nonfiction, including the travel memoir classic Nothing to Declare: Memoirs of a Woman Traveling Alone. She is a recipient of the Rome Prize in literature and the 2016 Anisfield-Wolf Award for Fiction.

Wednesday, December 12

12:30 pm – Author Presentation and Luncheon

$36 | $18 Members | Patrons Free

An exhilarating tale of shifting identities, desire and intrigue set in between 1920’s Paris and Philadelphia.

“Dazzling and seductive, a tour de force” —Dawn Tripp, bestselling author of Georgia

B. A. Shapiro is the author of seven novels, including the award-winning New York Times bestseller The Art Forger and The Muralist, a national bestseller. We welcome Barbara back for her third event with us!

Wednesday, January 9

12:30 pm – Author Presentation and Luncheon

$36 | $18 Members | Patrons Free

A historical thriller bringing to life the drama of the birth of organized crime in 1930s New York City from the tale of one family.

“A compelling, fast paced historical thriller… Fans of Boardwalk Empire and Dennis Lehane will love it.”— Kristin Hannah, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Andrew Gross is the author of New York Times and international bestsellers The Blue Zone, Don’t Look Twice, and The Dark Tide (which was nominated for the Best Thriller of the Year award by the International Thriller Writers), Reckless, Eyes Wide Open, and most recently, One Mile Under. He is also coauthor of five number-one bestsellers with James Patterson, including Judge & Jury and Lifeguard.

Wednesday, February 20

12:30 pm – Author Presentation and Luncheon

$36 | $18 Members | Patrons Free

Set in Minnesota, Gone to Dust is the New York Times bestselling debut private eye murder mystery from Emmy Award-winning Seinfeld writer Matt Goldman.

“Sharp wit, complex characters, and masterful plotting makes Goldman a writer to watch.” —Harlan Coben, New York Times bestselling author

Matt Goldman is a playwright and Emmy Award-winning television writer for Seinfeld, Ellen, and others. He won an Emmy Award for his work on Wizards of Waverly Place, and was nominated for a Writer’s Guild Award for his work on Seinfeld.

Double Feature!

2:00 pm

Free

Stay for dessert and conversation with author Alyson Richman to celebrate the launch of her newest book, The Secret of Clouds.

Told from the perspective of a young mother and the devoted teacher who befriends her son, The Secret of Clouds spans two countries and decades to reveal what really matters—love and hope

Alyson Richman is the #1 internationally bestselling author of “The Lost Wife”, “The Velvet Hours” and “The Garden of Letters”.

Wednesday, March 13

12:30 pm – Author Presentation and Luncheon

$36 | $18 Members | Patrons Free

A heartwarming, hilarious novel for anyone who has ever had a family.

“Hilariously funny, relevant, and full of charm. You can’t help but fall in love with this story! Marilyn Simon Rothstein will make you laugh and cry, and when you reach to the end, you’ll close the book with a smile on your face, fully satisfied. Highly recommended!” —Loretta Nyhan, author of All the Good Parts

Marilyn Simon Rothstein is the author of Lift and Separate, winner of the Star Award, presented by the Women’s Fiction Writers Association for Outstanding Debut.

Wednesday, April 10

12:30 pm – Author Presentation and Luncheon

$36 | $18 Members | Patrons Free

A novel that brings the scandalous love affair between Hollywood gossip columnist Sheilah Graham and literary wonder boy F. Scott Fitzgerald gloriously to life with the color, glitter, magic, and passion of 1930s Hollywood.

“A stunning, utterly captivating read. Another Side of Paradisedelivers an unforgettable portrait of F. Scott Fitzgerald and Sheilah Graham, a remarkable couple steeped in all the glamour, romance, and intrigue of old Hollywood. Their wild ride of a love affair is one for the ages!”- Kathleen Grissom, New York Times bestselling author of The Kitchen House and Glory Over Everything

“Looking for something deliciously dishy with a side of wry? This golden age Hollywood novel is your ticket.” – Oprah.com

Sally Koslow is the author of The Widow Waltz, The Late, Lamented Molly Marx, and With Friends Like These and the nonfictional Slouching Toward Adulthood: How To Let Go So Your Kids Can Grow Up. Her debut novel, Little Pink Slips, was inspired by her long career as the editor-in-chief of iconic McCall’s Magazine.

Join our Book Lovers Club for a series discount to attend all six Literary Luncheon events

$185/$115

Includes: One ticket to the Community Read Luncheon; Two tickers for you and a guest to each of the five additional Literary Luncheon events; Day pass for JCC-U programming on the day of the events; 10% discount on book purchases

Literary Series Committee:

Holly Levy, Arts & Culture Co-Chair

Linda Schechter, Arts & Culture Co-Chair

Mytyl Simancas-Bister, Arts & Culture Co-Chair

Rosalie Altmark

Barbara Eisenberg

Lynn Delman

Iris Slomovitz

Become a Patron of the Arts

Make a $1,000 donation to help underwrite Arts & Culture programs and receive priority access a variety of events and special programs throughout the season.